How to do Surya Namaskar Step by Step – HowFlux

How to do Surya Namaskar Step by Step

How to Do Surya Namaskar


Surya Namaskaar or Sun salutation is a posture included in yoga, which helps one to enhance his health in several ways. This serves to be a single mantra to stay fit in all respects and some even take it as a way of staying sound and healthy as well. This includes twelve powerful yoga asana which helps you keep your body in shape and keep your mind calm and healthy. Most of the people who seek to join yoga camps in order to bring about the desired improvement of their health follow sun salutation poses in order to stay fit and if you also wish to add it in your schedule, you should follow the following tips:-

How to do Surya Namaskar Step by Step

How to do Surya Namaskar Step by Step

1. Start Surya Namaskaar:-

Actually, sun salutation is done in two sets, one out of which is a combination of 12 poses of yoga and the other half is a repetition of the same sequence of postures. These asana include Pranamasana, Hastauttanasana, hasta padasana and other such asana.

2. Begin With Pranaam Aasana:

Pranaam in Hindi means to wish someone or to greet him. In order to perform this asana, you will have to stand straight with your feet close to each other and palms joined in the style of Indian way of doing Pranaam or salute. Inhale air in this pose and then exhale. Now exhale and push the hands down, making them straight while lowering them till the elbows touch the sides.

3. Hastauttanasana:-

This is a pose of raised hands in which we breathe in while lifting the arms up and back. The biceps are kept close to the ears. The effort is to stretch the whole body up from heels to the finger tips.

4. Hasta Padasana:-

This one is also called hand to foot pose in a way that we bring the hands down to the floor while exhaling in this position. In order to perform this asana, we have to breathe out while bending forward from the waist. The spine should be kept erect in this approach. Then follows the approach of exhaling while bringing the hands down to floor.

5. Ashwa Sanchalanasana:-

It is also known as equestrian pose. In this pose you breathe in while pushing your right leg back as far as possible. You also have to bring the right knee to floor and look up straight while doing this asana.

6. Dandasana:-

Danda in Hindi means stick. In this pose, you behave like a stick and thus it has been named dandasana. In this asana, you have to breathe in while taking the left leg back, taking the whole body in a straight line.

7. Ashtanga Namaskara:-

Ashta means eight in Sanskrit and as most of the Hindi word are based on Sanskrit, this name has been given to this aasan. In order to perform this asana, you will have to bring your knees down to the floor in a gentle way while exhaling. The hips will be taken back slightly. The chest and chin will be resting on the floor. Eight parts of your body, including two hands, two feet, two knees, chest and chin should be touching the floor.

8. Bhujangasan:-

Bhunajg in Sanskrit means snake. This pose has been named after a snake in a way that we have to rest in a snake’s posture while doing this aasana. Simply slide forward and raise the chest keeping your elbows bent and shoulders taken away from the ears while looking up in order to do this asana.

9. Parvatasana:-

Parvat in Hindi means mountain. This pose has been named after a mountain in a way that we have to make posture like a mountain while performing this asana. We have to inhale out while lifting the hips tailing the bone up and chest downwards. This posture looks like an inverted “V”.

10. Ashwa Sanchalanasana:-

Ashwa in Hindi means horse. In this pose we have to breathe in while bringing the right foot forward in between the two hands. The left knee should be residing down to the floor. Now the hips are pressed down and we look up.

11. Hasta Padasana:-

Hasta in Hindi means hands and Pad in Hindi means legs. This pose includes usage of both, your hands as well as feet and thus it has been named hand and foot pose. In order to do this aasana, you have to breathe out while moving the left foot forward. The palms are kept on the floor while doing this. The knees can be bent if needed.

12. Hastauttanasana:-

I have told you earlier that Hasta means hands. Uttan means raised position of hands. In order to perform this asana, you will have to breathe in while rolling the spine up and keeping the hands moving upside. The hips are then pushed outwards slightly while keeping the hand bent backward a bit.

13. Tadasana:-

In this pose, you straighten the body while you exhale. The arms are bought downside then. You have to relax now and observe the sensations in your body. Often these asana are also followed with chanting of mantras.


About the Author: Editorial Team

Hello from your friendly Editorial Team at We thank you for visiting our website and hope you find our articles both fun and educational. We try to cover a wide range of topics and have over 3,000 articles posted for you to enjoy. Thank you again for being a loyal reader!